By J. Kenneth Richardson, P.Eng., FSFPE

The Beginning

The seeds for an SFPE Chapter in the Ottawa region were sown in a meeting held January 15, 1981 at the Ottawa offices of the Canadian Wood Council. The four individuals in attendance were Ross Thomson of the Canadian Wood Council, Kurt Brewer of National Defence, Stuart Hornby of the Fire Commissioner of Canada’s office and Ken Richardson of the National Research Council. The group agreed that the formation of a chapter in Ottawa appeared feasible and should be investigated further. The first action of this Organizing Group was to determine the reaction of the SFPE Montreal-Ottawa Chapter (now the St. Laurent Chapter) to the formation of a separate chapter in Ottawa....

Please read our 25th Anniversary Booklet


1981-1984 Ken Richardson

1984-1986 Robert Kearney ***

1986-1988 John Berndt

1988-1990 Harold (Hal) Nichol*

1990-1992 Jack Mawhinney

1992-1994 Rod McPhee

1994-1996 Tom Dunfield

1996-1998 Guy Gosselin

1998-2000 Eugene Marotta

2000-2002 Dan Anderson

2002-2004 Guylène Proulx **

2004-2006 George Hadjisophocleous

2006-2008 George Fawcett

2009-2010 Sean Tracey

2011-2012 Ehab Zalok

2013-2014 Robert Salvador

2015-2016 Shawn Young

2016-2018 Mark Ramlochan

2018-2021 Aaron Lee

2021-PRESENT Lindsay Ranger

*Deceased May 1993
**Deceased Dec 2009
*** Deceased October 2012

All contents © 2024 Society of Fire Protection Engineers

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software